Wooo! First post!


Hey everyone! Rachel here; just wanted to start off my first blog post by saying welcome and thanks for checking it out. I just wanted to let everyone know why I decided to start this blog with my best friend and how both our ideas mixed together.

I’ve never been a hardcore blogger, hell I’ve never been really into facebook much either, but I always admired a couple females that blogged and considered starting my own blog. The only problem I really had was I never knew what to blog about until recently. A few weeks ago I was reading some college websites and looking over my college information and it just hit me. I should write a blog about my experience in college and offer advice to other college goers. I really thought this would be a great idea for me to open up and meet my new goals and wishes for my future. Here’s why…

Two years ago I started off my freshman year of college at The Art Institute of Pittsburgh for Digital Film and Video Production. Long story short I ended up really not enjoying it there. I didn’t fit in with the student body, I had housing issues, financial issues, rude employees, and I felt unchallenged and unsatisfied. I knew that I could do better and challenge myself more. I also realized that I wanted to have the “real” college experience that I wasn’t getting at AiP (Art Institute for short). After some consideration and a visit to the school, I applied to Point Park University (literally right across the street from AiP) and was accepted. I’ve been looking forward to going to Point Park so much and I’ve promised myself that I wanted to open myself up more than already have in the past and expand on that. I want to be more involved with school and do better academically. I figured that starting a blog could help me open up more to new people and ideas while documenting something that I hope is a life changing journey.

Now that I explained where the idea came from, you’re probably wondering where Ashley came into play with this. Well after thinking over ideas and a theme for my blog I realized that Ash was in basically the same position I am and ironically going to attend school at the “split end” of PA. So I told her about my ideas and asked her to hop on board and she automatically said yes. I’ll let her fill you in on her side more later with her first post.

Anyways, I hope that this blog can be an interesting and exciting way for Ash and I to stay in touch. I also hope that somehow this blog reaches out to college students and young adults. Enjoy everyone!

-Rachel

2 thoughts on “Wooo! First post!

Leave a Reply

