First Day of Class…Check!


Well its been a couple days since my last post and so many new things have happened. I met all my roommates on Sunday. I met roomie 3 first, then roomie 2, then roomie 1 (bedroom mate). All three are very nice and so was their families. I didn’t really talk to them much Saturday evening because I didn’t want to interrupt or get in the way of them unpacking.

On Sunday I walked around with roomies 2 and 3. They showed me around a little bit and introduced me to some of their friends. Later that day I walked around with roomie 1 who also showed me a few things and introduced me to a good bit of people. I ran into a coworker that attends school at PPU as well. We have coffee date set up for Wednesday so I’m excited to get to talk to her.

Later that evening, roomie 3 invited us all out to dinner at this Italian restaurant called Bucca di Pepp0, located in Station Square. Bucca serves dishes individually in family style portions. For example a Bucca small feeds 3-4 people where as Bucca large feeds 5-7. We ordered the apple gorgonzola salad, baked ziti and eggplant parmigiana. All three were extremely delicious, especially the salad. We chatted quite a bit and had a good time.

After that we had a floor meeting which was your typical floor meeting where you get to hear about all the rules blah blah blah. However, Point Park does a lot more stuff for their students which I found really cool. There’s a mystery bus that takes you to a random spot in Pittsburgh for a day and you get to hang out at that spot and adventure around. Free tickets to local attractions like the Carnegie Museum, the Mattress Factory, etc. So I have some fun to look forward to.

As for my first day of class…I had Journalistic Skills 1 at 9 am. It’s mostly about writing and editing in AP style format. It was kind of boring and we do a lot of grammar but we also do a lot of writing so I’m looking forward to that. I didn’t talk to anyone really in that class. It was all girls except two boys and I couldn’t see myself getting along with any of them besides two or three people.

Secondly I had Intro to Broadcasting. Obviously my favorite class thus far (even though its the first day). I chatted with a few girls in that class and it was more upbeat and fun. The girl that sat next to me was also a transfer student so we had common interest. I feel like I can get along with a good amount of people in that class. Mostly because of the shared interest in broadcasting. I’m probably a little more ahead of them in the video production world considering that’s a freshman class but hey, maybe I can teach someone something or help them out.

And now I’m sitting in my suite alone because my roommates have class or are seeing other friends. Not sure what to do with myself tonight because I’m done with class for today. It seems like I have an awful lot of free time and I’m starting to wish I worked this week. Also considered telling my boss I could work Mondays but come mid-term and finals week that could bite me in the ass. Or maybe if I ever get friends here I won’t be as bored. Who knows, only time will tell.

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

