1 Down, 14 to Go.


Last Thursday I finished my first week of my Junior year. It wasn’t too hard or too devastating; it was rather boring and uneventful. So far I like all my classes. I don’t think I’ll have a hard time passing them as long as I stay on track. The most boring class is defiantly going to be Study of Government. The instructor is this older, monotone, no bullshit type man. My instructor tries to be funny but it doesn’t really work out well. The entire class is all lecture with three exams and one little paper. A very boring way to learn in my opinion but luckily I bought the book as a back up plan. The most exciting class thus far is Intro to Broadcasting. In my last post I said that was my favorite so far and it still is. In my Visual Communication Design class I have a totally crazy instructor. He’s a sarcastic smart ass whose really down to earth and chill. Even though its kind of a intro to Photoshop class (I’ve used Photoshop since high school  so I would like to be more challenged) I think I’m going to like it and I hope a learn something new.

I’m still on the fence about the social aspects of this school. I’m sure most of you have seen Mean Girls and when I say plastics you know what I’m talking about. For those of you who don’t plastics are girls that look like barbie dolls, dress way way to nice to sit in a lecture class, have this fake, stuck up accent (like OMG no way!), are usually skanky, think they’re better than everyone else, and are rich (or like to think they are). Half of this school is just that, plastics and plastic comes in male form too, but they are usually referred to as tools or douche bags. They come with large diamond studded earrings, fake tans, and huge muscles (cough* Jersey Shore knockoffs *cough). There is normal people here at this school, you just have to look for them. I talked to a few people and had a few people approach me but I haven’t made any “friends” yet.

The roommate situation here is going pretty well. I must say I am far more comfortable here with my living situation than I was at AiP. All of my roommates are still being totally nice and from time to time we sit down and watch TV or a movie together or order take out. The other night roomie 1 and I shared a little family history and talked on a deeper level. Which was really good to get in touch with people you live with. They aren’t messy and are very fair about cleaning and sharing space.

I’m working on my application essay for the honors program. I really really hope I can get in. I think my essay is pretty good so far and I hope to have it done by the end of this week. If I get in, I have to maintain an overall GPA of 3.0 and  3.5 GPA in all my honors courses. I really hope I can do that and don’t mess up. Being in this program is the biggest deal to me while being here and I don’t want to throw it away.

I had my first day back to work on Saturday and it felt good to be back. I got to bullshit with my manger and catch up. The store I work at opened last November and only three of the original employees is still there, myself included. I found out that my ex roommate got fired for not showing up and calling off work all the time which really didn’t surprise me but gave me a good chuckle. Were open on Sundays now which means I can work more hours. So far I have 29 hours this week starting tomorrow. That’s a lot of hours and if I start working on Sunday that will add another 6. Once school really picks up I’m sure I’ll have to give up a few hours but for now I really need that money to pay off loans and things. It’s all part of my plan which I’ll explain at a later time.

After this first week I really hope that everything works out. I hope I can stay focused and on task and get good grades. I want to make money and save up as much as I can. If I don’t get into the honors programs I’m going to cry (just kidding). Most of all I really hope I make friends here. Even if its just one friend, I just want to find someone I truly connect to.

Leave a Reply

