Day 10: 60 Day Blog Challenge


Your view on drugs and alcohol

Oh boy this oughta be a good one. Let’s take it back to my sophomore year of high school for this one …

It was during this time that I started to change myself. I started finding myself in a sense because the friends I had in middle school were no longer my friends, I had new friends who were different than me. My new friends listened to punk rock and metal, wore black clothes and band t-shirts. I was opened up to whole new culture and taking a serious liking to new genre’s of music. I was also going through a rather difficult time (which I will not discuss at this time). For the first time in my life I felt depressed and lost. I stuck around my new friends because they didn’t judge me and I felt like I was starting to fit in.

These friends and experiences also opened me up to a whole new worlds of drugs and alcohol. Don’t get me wrong I wasn’t that bad compared to other kids in high school and I was actually quite tame looking back on it. But still I started smoking weed and drinking. I would drink during shows (mini concerts) with my friends and get high on the weekends. I thought the drugs were helping at the time but really they just made everything worse. I didn’t care about anything my grades were suffering and I was a whole new person. Looking back I wander what the fuck I was thinking.

Finally, I realized how much of an idiot I was. After my sophomore year my rebel phase slowly faded and  by the time my junior year was ending I got rid of a lot of friends and started over. During those years I found out who I really was and it defiantly wasn’t the gothic girl from sophomore year.

Since graduating I haven’t done any drugs or drank alcohol at all. I’ve never been to a college party and never plan on attending one. I watched the people I thought were friends ruin their lives by drugs and alcohol. And I’ve dropped pretty much all those people as friends because I don’t want to be associated with that kinda stuff.

As time goes on I hate drinking, drugs, and partying more and more and I look down upon it. Honestly if I meet someone and they tell me they party every weekend, I won’t be there friend. I think it shows a huge amount of immaturity and irresponsibility. It has become a huge pet peeve of mine and something I feel very strongly about. So in short, I hate drinking and drugs. It’s stupid and a waste of time. I feel extremely lucky that I figured that out so early in life and I am so grateful nothing bad ever happened to me. I am proud to say that I don’t party, drink, or drug and that I have learned from my mistakes.

Leave a Reply

