About Rachel


I’m Rachel, I’m 21 years old and I live in a small town in Central Pennsylvania with my family.

I’m a very straight forward and opinionated person who tends to give off this edgy, bad attitude vibe to people when you first meet me but if you give me a chance, take your time and get to know me, you’ll find out I actually am a really nice person.. I’m also pretty quiet around new people or new locations. I’m a very relaxed and laid back individual, so it takes me a lot to get excited about something. I am very set on my ways and values. However, I’m open to hearing and conversing on new ideas and opinions, while having respect for others who think differently than I do.

I have lived in the same town all my life. Everyone knows everyone’s business and name here (which can be a good or bad thing, mostly bad) and most people who live here are old school and conservative. Most of the time I feel like its a venus fly trap that sucks you in and never spits you out. To put it bluntly…this town sucks.

Since I was 15, I’ve worked at the local Dunkin Donuts and now I work at another location in Pittsburgh. I’ve had ups and downs at both stores,    but hey…its easy, its part-time and its money.

I used to smoke cigarettes (about a pack or two a week), but now I’m trying to quit. I guess you could say I’m a social smoker.  I don’t party, drink, or drug. I’m very against partying and all that foolishness. I don’t see anything wrong with having a few drinks here or there if your of age though.

I’m agnostic and not into any sort of religious views at all.

Boyfriend and I at the Marine Corps Birthday Ball

I’ve been interested in art and visual art since high school. Mostly painting, photography and videography. I’ve seemed to step away from a lot of that.  I feel very disconnected from art with where I currently am in my life. I’m not sure what this means yet, but I’m hoping to find out.

I love diners! I have a favorite diner here at home and one in Pittsburgh. I love the atmosphere and greasy, delicious food.

I’m absolutely addicted to coffee. Of course Dunkin is my favorite but I can grab a coffee from anywhere. I drink about 1-5 cups a day.

Ever since my high school media class I knew I wanted to work in the video production field.  I decided to go to the Art Institute of Pittsburgh for their Digital Film and Video Production major. I went under the assumption that I was going to learn about all types of video production. Soon enough I realized that AiP’s main point of focus was making movies and films, which is something I defiantly never ever wanted to do. It wasn’t until my video field recording class that I realized what I wanted to do…BROADCASTING! Unfortunately, AiP didn’t offer much on broadcasting which is why I looked into Point Park and transferred there. As of now my plan is to graduate from Point Park as an honors student with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in TV Broadcasting. After that I would like to gain experience in the field while attending Point Park for my master’s degree in communications. I’m not really sure where I want to go from there, but maybe the History Channel or something close to that. After I get older and maybe even have a family, I would like to start teaching broadcasting at a college level.

I’m going to tell you a little bit about my family since they will be mentioned here in my posts.

My mom works at a company selling hair products to top notch salons across Central Pa. She also works a couple days a week at a hair salon.  My mom and I are very much alike and spend a good bit of time together.

My dad works at a correctional facility near our home. He’s a pretty goofy guy but he’s great and good to talk to because of all the knowledge that he has about politics and the outdoors.

My younger brother James is 19. He is transferring from Norwich University to Mansfield University for Criminal Justice. Him and I are really close and share a lot of the same friends so we always hang out together.

He’s not exactly family yet, but I have a great boyfriend who I’ve been with since September 15, 2009. His name is Travis and he really is one of my best friends. We’re very close and there is no line to awkwardness between him and I. He’s attending Penn State for Kinesiology and he’s a Marine Reservist.

Family Photo! James’ Graduation. Dad, James, me and Mom.

Well, this sums up my about me. If you want to check out more pictures of me, my family, or friends click here. If anyone has any other questions feel free to email me at xxsplitendsxx@gmail.com

Advertisements

One thought on “About Rachel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s